top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnonymous

Kaz's Story

Updated: Jan 24, 2018

This Story was original story was posted on Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria and was posted here to bring awareness to the subject of Domestic Violence against woman.


I really fell for this guy. He was wonderful for the first 3 months, but then he changed and became very controlling.
He didn’t allow me to talk with friends freely, and would throw and break things if I did.
He told me I was a bitch, he spat on me and hit me.
On one occassion I was bedridden for 2 days from this and made excuses to people about how I was injured. He pulled a knife and stabbed my bedding, threatened me with objects, drove the car at high speeds with me in it – and always, always it was my fault.
I began to believe that it was my fault and felt like I was in this rollercoaster that I couldn’t get off. I spent every day crying until finally enough was enough and I left. Still he came and begged me to give him another go and I did, but it wasn’t my choice to be in the relationship.
We didn’t live together again and I started to go out with my friends more and more.
I found that I really was so much happier and better without this person in my life.

How I Coped

I really don’t know, I think I was only just functioning really. Getting up each day going to work, hoping that this person would treat me better this day – but it never happened.

How The Situation Changed

Finally after continual phone calls and harassment from him I got a restraining order.

What Helped Me

My friends and family helped me a lot, telling me I didn’t need this jerk in my life that I was a better person than him and I deserved someone better, someone who respects me and allows me to be me. Also being the mother of grown children who loved me and just wanted to see me happy – I wanted to be there for them.

What I would say to others

Get out before it is too late. I don’t know what would of happened if I stayed, I think about that and just feel very lucky that I started to believe in myself again and managed to get out of the web. It was my personal nightmare – one that I will never be in again.
4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page